A Good Day

Little Miss Minion had a good day today.

When we came in this morning, she had her picc line out and the IV pole was gone. 🙂  She is in room air at 3 liters, which is an improvement. She gets fed 16 ml every two hours, and she now weighs 3 pounds 5.6 ounces.

When I got there this afternoon, one of the physical therapists came by to teach me preemie massage. Since preemies hate normal newborn stroking, you have to touch them in a certain way. It’s firm pressure instead of gentle stroking. You start with a touch hold, then you can do their back, shoulders, arms while kangarooing. She’s coming back next week to show me the front side and legs.

Since she doesn’t have the IV anymore, they let me pick her up all by myself. It was terrifying, but very nice. It felt like she was really my daughter, since I could pick her up all on my own.

I’m exhausted. I feel like I could sleep for days. I probably could if I really tried. Too bad I have to work…

Leave a Reply

